President's Welcome Message

Martha Ledezma - Sixth Circuit
ABJA President


Hello, my name is Martha Ledezma and I am judicial assistant to the Honorable John T. Gregg of the United States Bankruptcy Court for the Western District of Michigan.  I am very proud to serve as the ABJA’s 2023-2024 President. 

As you may know, the ABJA has been committed to providing members with the necessary tools to grow in excellence for over 30 years.  In its effort keep up with the changes in the bankruptcy world and the needs of its members and associate members, the ABJA is continually making changes in how it provides its members with new opportunities and benefits.  The ABJA is also consistently evolving in ways to ensure that these tools are provided to its members.  You are greatly encouraged to review the benefits of joining the ABJA under the Why You Should Join the ABJA section of this website.

As a member of the ABJA, you will be part of the only organization that is dedicated to bankruptcy administrative professionals.  You will have opportunities to connect with peers to share knowledge and form lifetime friendships.  One of these opportunities is at our annual conference. This year’s conference committee is planning an amazing one-of-a-kind conference located in Santa Ana, California.  Santa Ana is a uniquely cultural city in Southern California and promises a great experience for all visitors.  I hope you will consider joining us at the annual conference in Santa Ana!


ABJA Officers for 2023 - 2024

President, Martha Ledezma
President-Elect, Teresa Wheeler
Secretary, Dawn Nartker  
Treasurer, Debbie Chavez (Jan. 2024 - Dec. 2025)

Parliamentarian, Jennifer Bruce (appointed

Circuit Representatives:

DC/1st - Vacant
2nd - Vacant
3rd - Cacia Batts
4th - Denise Williams
5th - Terri Salter
6th - Katrina Shellman
7th - Vacant
8th - Vacant
9th - Chantelle Sliman
10th - Sarah Laybourne
11th - Sabrina Mallow

Become an ABJA Officer! 

Consider being an active member in the ABJA. Review the Position Descriptions. Get on the next ballot to be a Circuit Representative!  It's a great place to start!

Committee Chairs:

Bylaws - Denise Williams
CBA Program - Dorothy Clay & Denise Williams 
Conference - Karen Hess & Ursula Hamilton
Continuing Education - Laura Stevenson
Finance - Karen Hess
History - Laura Stevenson
Legislation - Martha Ledezma
Long Range Planning - Teresa Wheeler
Membership - Cindy McNeilly
Newsletter/PR - Denise Williams
Nominations/Elections - Venice Tamplin-Henderson
Support & Assistance - Katrina Shellman
Website Development - Denise Williams